Emerging Black Star: Macie Thomas – Freelance Hairstylist

Macie Thomas is a South Suburban based freelance hairstylist who specializes in extensions and Holistic hair care. Check her out on Instagram @mane_by_macie and book an appointment with her at https://www.styleseat.com/m/book/v/macierenee

Tell me a little bit about your current career and what your future ambitions are?

My current career as a freelance hairstylist has been very rewarding for me spiritually as well as financially. I enjoy the aspect of making women look and feel beautiful!

What sparked your passion?

Initially it was just a natural gift that I decided to hone. But through my interactions with women of diverse ages, ethnicities, and religions, I began to realize that I was being fed in a different light. Women come to me to vent, get advice, and just talk in general. The confidence level rises with the hair service of course but the therapy is a plus!

What are some challenges you have faced in your professional life?

Some of my greatest challenges stemmed from me changing locations. There is a lot that comes with moving and marketing in this field, especially when you are freelancing.

What are some good ways to market yourself as a hairstylist? 

The best way in my opinion and through experience is word of mouth. Always do a great job on each client because they advertise wherever they go! It’s free marketing which is a plus, and clients get a sense of your styling techniques.

What do you want people to know about you?

Well that’s an odd question lol..Never really thought about that. I guess I would want people to know that I am always open to network and receive constructive criticism. I accept my responsibility to spread love and knowledge to others! Also that I am working towards a natural hair care line and salon with a dope concept!

Can you tell me a little more about your vision of a natural hair care line and the dope concept you have for a salon?

Well my natural hair care line will be made of essential oils and herbs. Pretty much everything should be edible that you put onto your scalp, so my goal is to offer this holistic regimen to benefit my clients’ hair and overall health. My salon will have the same natural quality, and clients will be able to have a hair care regimen for them and their hair type!

What makes you an Emerging Black Star in the Chicago community?

I am at a point that I feel most adults my age are at; trying to be better for myself, my loved ones, and community. We are at a crucial time and I feel like our people need young black entrepreneurs more than ever!

What are three words that describe you?

Evolving. Love. Unrelenting

fullsizer

How can people work with you?

Simply by contacting me through Styleseat.com/macierenee. My contact info is there, and some of my work as well! I do wedding parties, fashion shows, photo shoots, you name it!

What words of wisdom do you have for boys and girls who may want to follow in your path?

I would say be patient yet diligent! This business is what you make it, you can literally go so many different directions in the beauty industry but you have to do what resonates with you! Also, never be afraid to set your prices and stick to them! Be confident in your work and the quality you provide.

Leave a Reply

